Richard Stanley Receives the Schock Prize

Richard P. Stanley

Feferman and Stanley Receive Schock Prizes

Four Rolf Schock Prizes for 2003 have been awarded, two of them to mathematicians: SOLOMON FEFERMAN and RICHARD P. STANLEY.

The versatile philosopher and artist Rolf Schock (1933¨C1986) describes in his will a prize to be awarded in such widely differing subjects as logic and philosophy, mathematics, the visual arts, and music. The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the Royal Swedish Academy of Fine Arts, and the Royal Swedish Academy of Music have awarded these prizes every other year since 1993. Each prize carries a monetary award of SEK 400,000 (about US$51,400).

Richard P. Stanley

The Schock Prize in Mathematics was awarded to Richard P. Stanley of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology ¡°for his fundamental contributions to combinatorics and its relationship to algebra and geometry, in particular for his important contributions to the theory of convex polytopes and his innovative work on enumerative combinatorics.¡±

Richard P. Stanley has made many pioneering contributions to combinatorics. In addition, he has forcefully and with great originality contributed to the discovery of new connections between combinatorics and other areas of mathematics, to great mutual benefit.

Among his most significant results are his contributions to the study of convex polytopes, the bodies that in higher dimensions correspond to three-dimensional polyhedra (such as cubes and pyramids), especially his proof of necessity in the characterization of f-vectors of simplicial polytopes via algebraic geometry (toric varieties). Furthermore, he has produced first-rate work prompted by enumerative problems, which he often solves in unexpected ways using techniques primarily from commutative algebra, algebraic and convex geometry, and representation theory. His ideas have not only influenced and altered combinatorics profoundly and permanently; they have also stimulated research in the other areas mentioned.

Stanley¡¯s scientific production is marked by clarity, breadth, substance, and originality. The methods he has introduced are innovative and have led to decisive progress in many areas of mathematics. He has also spent much effort in writing graduate-level textbooks that have rapidly set the norm.

Richard P. Stanley was born in New York in 1944. He studied at the California Institute of Technology and Harvard University, where he received his doctorate in 1971. Since 1979 he has been professor of applied mathematics at MIT. He has been a visiting professor at a number of universities in the United States and France, and also at Stockholm University and the Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm.

Mathematicians who have previously received the Schock Prize are: Elliott H. Lieb (2001), Yuri Manin (1999), Dana S. Scott (1997), Mikio Sato (1997), Andrew Wiles (1995), and Elias M. Stein (1993).

¡ªFrom Royal Swedish Academy news releases

Relevant Link:

Richard P. Stanley receives the 2003 Rolf Schock Prize in Mathematics by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences